Renault established in 1899 by Louis Renault and his brothers, Renault are a multinational automobile manufacturer headquartered in Boulogne-Billancourt, France. Renault formed a strategic alliance with Japan-based auto manufacturer Nissan in 1999 via a cross-shareholding agreement. The alliance controls nine major brands and is a leading global plug-in electric vehicle manufacturer.

Headquartered in Chennai, Renault India Pvt Ltd is a 100% owned subsidiary of Renault S.A. The company made its first foray in India market in 2005 through a joint venture with Indian based automobile manufacturer, Mahindra & Mahindra. In 2010, Renault bought back its shares from Mahindra and formed Renault India Pvt Limited. Renault India launched its first independent model, Fluence saloon, in May 2011, followed by Koleos SUV, Duster SUV, Scala Sedan, and Pulse hatchback.

Renault India offers a total of 5 car models. The list of Renault cars in the country comprises one hatchback, 2 MUV car, and 2 SUV cars. The manufacturer offers 24 petrol models, nine diesel models. Some of the popular Renaults cars in India include Renault Kwid, Renault Triber, Renault Duster, Renault Captur, and Renault Lodgy.